Animal insemination

Le 30 April 2019

Animal insemination is one of the basic services of the cooperative. Contrary to many operators in France, the choice to maintain two daily AI tours throughout the year allows to adapt as much as possible to the needs and constraints of breeders. Orders for services are made by placing a message on a telephone answering machine.

Calls are recorded twice a day:

  • -Calls until 8 pm: passage of the AI technician before 10 am next morning
  • -Calls before 9.30am in summer and 10am in winter: AI technician passage in the day

Sunday is an unworked day. In compensation, a third tour is added on Saturday evening.

Calls before 6 pm (Saturday only): AI techician’s passage in the evening

The schedule switches are May 1st and November 1st.

The AI technician is a real specialist in reproduction. Fecunding your females is of course the basis of his work, but his role does not stop there. Upstream, when making the mating plans in autumn, it is the cap of genetic counselor he adopts. For that, its main asset is to know you well and thus, to be able to adapt at best its choices to your expectations. Subsequently, he is also able to offer you or perform various services of pregnancy assesments. All license holders practice rectal palpation and ultrasound.

You are dynamic, holding an agriculture diploma (BTSA PA or ACSE), motivated by reproduction and genetics? Eager to work in Jura farms? Do not hesitate to contact us or to submit an unsolicited application. Positions can be regularly filled!

 

Our cooperative offers different pregnancy diagnosis.

The rectal palpation: It is practiced from 60 days. This techniques offers a very good reliability. It can be practiced in addition to earlier diagnosis to confirm pregnancy.

Ultrasound: Practicable 30 to 35 days after insemination, ultrasound has been a real success in recent years. The main interest is to find the non-pregnant as soon as possible. Thus, it is possible to adapt its monitoring and possibly to use a heat synchronization.

Fecondi’Lait: A more recent technique of pregnancy diagnosis, Fecondi’Lait is an Elisa type test performed in the laboratory on a milk sample. Results are returned within 5 days. It is possible to practice this one from the 30th day after the insemination.

The offer of cooperatives does its best to meet the expectations of breeders in terms of genetics. For breeds with very small numbers, or simply to use bulls from other suppliers, a breeder can buy doses whatever he wants. Eva Jura receives, records and stores these straws in the tank of the AI technician. Thus, your AI technician is able to ensure the insemination and ensure the official registration of the AI.

Nearly 9 out of 10 AIs are insured in  Montbeliarde breed in the Jura. However, there is an offer in the following breeds:

In purebred:

  •     Holstein
  •     Simmental
  •     Charolais

In crossing:

  •     BBB
  •     Limousin
  •     Blond from Aquitaine
  •     Charolais

If you do not find something to satisfy you in the offer or if you have a specific need, do not hesitate to inform your AI technician or contact the laboratory, which can meet your expectations.

Monitoring

Calving detector: The Smart’vel 2

Since 2010, more than 50 farms have trusted the Cooperative to equip themselves with calving detection tools. Of these, 20 have already trusted the Smart’vel 1 despite its recent commercialization.

The arrival of Smart’vel has boosted the French market for monitoring. In a little less than 5 years of marketing, he is by far the No. 1 French in the detection of calving, with more than 4500 systems installed. This success is explained by very diverse elements.

The very first, is the extreme simplicity of use. After a first installation requiring less than half an hour, it is enough to take a sensor, to equip the female so that 10 minutes later it is operational. The other major point is that it is non-invasive. Indeed, other systems require to place a thermometer in the vagina of the animal, the difficulty in this case is to assemble, at the laying, the conditions of impeccable hygiene. With the Smart’vel, the problem is avoided because the sensor is attached to the tail very simply. As a result, if the animal is calving during the night without needing you, the tool will always be on the tail in the morning. Unlike other products that are expelled with the water pocket, and it is sometimes difficult to find in the manure or in a field.

Finally, it only wakes you up if your intervention is necessary! In a first step, the farmer receives a text message at the beginning of the work. It is no question of intervening, but it allows to be informed. If cow is able to expel the calf alone everything stops there. However, if 2 hours after the text message the cow still has contractions and the tail remains up, you will receive a phone call this time. In this case it is the right moment to intervene.

The simplicity of use and the sturdiness of Smart’vel make it possible to significantly reduce calving losses, both in dairy farming and in beef farms. The comfort of being alerted only in case of need brings a real comfort of work and the insurance to intervene at the right moment.

With Smart’Vel 2, what’s new?

The product is 100% French, comments were listened and the sensor changes shape and loses two thirds of its weight! And in a few weeks, a free smartphone app will drive the tool and associate a cow to a sensor. And rare thing, he even managed to offload a portion of its price!

Eva Jura limits the marketing of monitoring tools in the Jura department. But if you are breeders in another territory, we can put you in contact with the local distributor.

Heat detector and disorder of the health

To control the reproduction of a herd, many factors come into play. But the most important of them is without doubt the detection of the heat.

Herds are growing and labor is decreasing. The need of a tool for effective monitoring is therefore growing.

Since 2010, the cooperative has been offering heat detection equipment. At the time, it was the classic heatime of the SCR company that had attracted ten farms. At the end of 2013, came the next generation called heatime HR. This product has been a real revolution in livestock monitoring tools. He was the first to quickly integrate a sensor for monitoring rumination. Thus, it is not only a heat detector, but it is also a tool for monitoring the health of the animal. Finally, in September 2018, the Sensetime has completed the range. It performs the same functions as the HR heatime, but with less fixed material which reduces its cost, and offering the choice between either the classic necklace or with a tag to the ear.

The strengths of HR heatime:

    100% autonomous and independent system: It just needs a 220V power outlet. It can therefore be installed in places where the internet is inaccessible.

    Recording and restitution data on a box with a color touch screen

    Antenna LD able to detect 500 meters in front of it

    Possible management of 500 necklaces

    Alerts of heat and health trouble

    Optional internet connection

Sensetime strengths:

    100% connected (The collector must be connected to an internet source)

    Choice between necklace and ear tag

    1 additional sensor analyzing the intake of food

    Less fixed material therefore reduction of the price

    Integration of data (inventory, calving dates, AI, pregnancy diagnosis, etc.) from national database

    Taking in hand from any tool connected to the internet (computer, tablet, smartphone …)

    Possibility of alert by text message

    Possibility to connect to the same system an additional antenna (in another building several kilometers for example)

    External backup and remote troubleshooting

Both products are marketed because they can meet different needs. Eva Jura limits the marketing of monitoring tools in the Jura department. But if you are breeders in another territory, we can put you in contact with the local distributor.

For further information, you can contact Julien Cêtre at 06.43.42.10.48

Insémination animale

Le 8 mars 2019

L’insémination animale est l’un des services de base de la coopérative. Contrairement à de nombreux opérateurs en France, le choix de maintenir deux tournées quotidiennes toute l’année permet de s’adapter un maximum aux besoins et contraintes des éleveurs. Les commandes de services se font en déposant un message sur un répondeur téléphonique.

Les appels sont relevés deux fois par jour :

  • Appels jusqu’à 20h : passage de l’inséminateur avant 10h
  • Appels avant 9h30 l’été et 10h l’hiver : passage de l’inséminateur dans la journée

 

Le dimanche est un jour non travaillé. En compensation, une troisième tournée est ajoutée le samedi soir.

Appels avant 18h (samedi et veille de jour férié) : passage de l’inséminateur dans la soirée

Les bascules d’horaires se font le 1er mai et le 1er novembre.

L’inséminateur est un véritable spécialiste de la reproduction. Féconder vos femelles est bien sûr la base de son travail, mais son rôle ne s’arrête pas là. En amont, lors de la réalisation à l’automne des plans d’accouplements, c’est la casquette de conseiller génétique qu’il adopte. Pour cela, son principal atout est de bien vous connaître et de s’adapter à vos attentes. Par la suite, il est aussi capable de vous proposer ou de réaliser divers services de constats de gestation. Tous les titulaires pratiquant le palper rectal et l’échographie.

 

Vous êtes dynamique, titulaire d’un BTSA PA ou ACSE, motivé par la reproduction et la génétique ? Désireux(se) de travailler dans les élevages jurassiens ? N’hésitez pas à nous contacter ou à déposer une candidature spontanée. Des postes peuvent être régulièrement à pourvoir !


Notre coopérative propose différents constats de gestation.

Le palper rectal : Se pratique à partir de 60 jours. Cette techniques offre une très bonne fiabilité. Il peut se pratiquer en complément de constats plus précoces pour confirmer les gestations.

L’échographie : Praticable 30 à 35 jours après l’insémination, l’échographie rencontre un véritable succès depuis quelques années. Le principal intérêt est de trouver les non-gestantes au plus vite. Ainsi, il est possible d’adapter sa surveillance et éventuellement de recourir à une synchronisation de chaleur.

Fécondi’Lait : Technique plus récente de diagnostic de gestation, Fécondi’Lait est un test de type Elisa pratiqué en laboratoire sur un échantillon de lait. Les résultats sont restitués sous 5 jours. Il est possible de pratiquer celui-ci à partir du 30ème jour après l’insémination.


L’offre de la coopérative consiste est de répondre au mieux aux attentes des éleveurs en terme de génétique. Pour des races à très faible effectif, ou tout simplement pour utiliser des taureaux d’autres fournisseurs, un éleveur peut acheter des doses où bon lui semble. Eva Jura réceptionne, enregistre et assure le stockage de ces paillettes dans la cuve de l’inséminateur. Ainsi, votre inséminateur est en mesure d’assurer la pose de celle-ci et d’assurer l’enregistrement officiel de l’IA.

Près de 9 IA sur 10 sont assurées en race Montbéliarde dans le Jura. Pour autant, il existe une offre dans les races suivantes :

 

En race pure :

  • Holstein
  • Simmental
  • Charolais

En croisement :

  • Blanc Bleu Belge
  • Limousin
  • Blond d’Aquitaine
  • Charolais

 

Si vous ne trouvez pas de quoi vous satisfaire dans l’offre ou si vous avez un besoin spécifique, n’hésitez pas à en faire part à votre inséminateur ou à contacter le laboratoire, qui pourra répondre à vos attentes.

 

Monitoring

Détecteur de vêlages : Le Smart’vel 2

Depuis 2010, plus de 50 élevages ont fait confiance à la Coopérative pour s’équiper en outils de détection de vêlages. Parmi eux, 20 ont déjà fait confiance au Smart’vel 1 malgré sa commercialisation récente.

L’arrivée du Smart’vel a dynamisé le marché Français du monitoring. En un peu moins de 5 ans de commercialisation, il est de loin le n°1 Français dans la détection de la mise bas, avec plus de 4500 systèmes installés. Ce succès s’explique par des éléments très divers.

Le tout premier, est l’extrême simplicité d’utilisation. Après une première installation nécessitant moins d’une demi-heure, il suffit de prendre un capteur, d’équiper la femelle pour que 10 minutes plus tard il soit opérationnel. L’autre point majeur, est qu’il est non invasif. En effet, d’autres systèmes nécessitent de placer un thermomètre dans le vagin de l’animal, la difficulté dans ce cas est de réunir, à la pose, des conditions d’hygiène irréprochable. Avec le Smart’vel, le problème est évité car le capteur vient se fixer à la queue très simplement. En conséquence, si l’animal vêle dans la nuit sans avoir besoin de vous, l’outil sera toujours sur la queue le matin. Contrairement à d’autres produits qui se font expulser avec la poche des eaux, et qu’il est parfois bien difficile de retrouver dans le fumier ou dans une prairie.

Enfin, il ne vous réveille que si votre intervention est nécessaire ! Dans une première étape, l’éleveur reçoit un sms lors du début du travail. Il n’est pas question d’intervenir, mais cela permet d’être informé. Si la vache est capable d’expulser seule le veau tout s’arrête là. Cependant, si 2 heures après le sms la vache a toujours des contractions et que la queue reste levée, vous recevrez cette fois un appel téléphonique. Dans ce cas c’est le bon moment pour intervenir.

La simplicité d’utilisation et la robustesse de Smart’vel, permettent de diminuer significativement les pertes au vêlage, aussi bien en élevage laitier qu’en élevage allaitant. Le confort d’être alerté uniquement en cas de besoin apporte un vrai confort de travail et l’assurance d’intervenir au bon moment.

Avec Smart’Vel 2, quoi de nouveau ?

 

Le produit étant 100% français, les remarques ont été écoutées et le capteur change de forme et perd les deux tiers de son poids ! Et dans quelques semaines, une application Smartphone gratuite permettra de piloter l’outil et d’associer une vache à un capteur. Et chose rare, il a même réussi à se délester d’une partie de son tarif !

Eva Jura limite la commercialisation des outils de monitoring au département du Jura. Mais si vous êtes éleveurs sur un autre territoire, nous pourrons vous mettre en contact avec le distributeur local.

  • Détecteur de chaleurs et de troubles de la santé

Pour bien maitriser la reproduction d’un troupeau, de nombreux facteurs rentrent en compte. Mais le plus important d’entre eux est sans aucun doute la détection de la chaleur.

Les troupeaux grossissent et la main d’œuvre diminue. Le besoin d’outil d’aide à la surveillance performant est donc grandissant.

Depuis 2010, la coopérative propose du matériel de détection de chaleurs. A l’époque, c’est le heatime classique de la société SCR qui avait séduit une dizaine d’élevages. Fin 2013 est arrivée la génération suivante appelée heatime HR. Ce produit a été une véritable révolution dans les outils de monitoring en élevage. Il a été le premier à très vite intégrer un capteur permettant le suivi de la rumination. Ainsi, ce n’est plus seulement un détecteur de chaleur, mais c’est également un outil de suivi de la santé de l’animal. Enfin, en septembre 2018, le Sensetime a complété la gamme. Il assure les mêmes fonctions que le heatime hr, mais avec moins de matériel fixe ce qui réduit son coût, et en offrant le choix entre soit le classique collier, soit avec une boucle à l’oreille.

Les points forts du heatime HR :

  • Système 100% autonome et indépendant : Il a juste besoin d’une prise de courant en 220V. Il peut donc être installé dans des lieux où internet est inaccessible.
  • Enregistrement et restitution des données sur une box avec un écran tactile couleur
  • Antenne LD capable de lire 500 mètres devant elle
  • Gestion possible de 500 colliers
  • Alertes de chaleurs et de trouble de la santé
  • Connectable à internet de façon facultative

 

Les points forts du Sensetime :

  • 100% connecté (Le collecteur doit obligatoirement être relié à une source internet)
  • Choix entre collier et boucle à l’oreille
  • 1 capteur supplémentaire analysant l’ingestion
  • Moins de matériel fixe donc réduction du tarif
  • Intégration de données (inventaire, dates de vêlage, IA, constats de gestation…) depuis la base nationale facilitée
  • Prise en main depuis n’importe quel outil relié à internet (ordinateur, tablette, smartphone…)
  • Possibilité d’alerte par sms
  • Possibilité de relier au même système une antenne supplémentaire (dans un autre bâtiment à plusieurs kilomètres par exemple)
  • Sauvegarde externe et dépannage à distance

 

Les 2 produits sont commercialisés car peuvent répondre à des besoins différents. Eva Jura limite la commercialisation des outils de monitoring au département du Jura. Mais si vous êtes éleveurs sur un autre territoire, nous pourrons vous mettre en contact avec le distributeur local.

Pour plus d’informations, contactez Julien Cêtre au 06.43.42.10.48 ou le standard au 03.84.48.22.11 et n’hésitez pas à en parler à votre inséminateur.